Well, had the MedPort put in yesterday in my chest so they can use that to administer the chemo thru. They say if they try to administer thru your veins, it will burns them up and you won't have any veins left in your arms...don't want that! So anyways, they put this port in right below my left clavical bone. It doesn't hurt as much as it is really sore.
Saw the surgeon this morning. Dr. Litchliter (hope I am spelling it right). His plan is 4 weeks of chemo and radiation, and then surgey 8 weeks after that. I asked why do they wait 2 months after the chemo and radiation to do surgery. He says once the radiation treatments stop, the radiation keeps working for awhile and will continue to shrink the cancer. He says there is a better success rate too rather than going in 3 or 4 weeks right after those treatments.
Told me I can't be eating steak, cheese, bread, anything starchy 'cos it could stop me up then I would have to have a colostemy bag. I can barely poop now cos the tumor is in the way, so I have to have food that is easy to go thru (sorry, this is the only way I know to word it).
Bill has been great thru all of this. Sitting in all of the MD office's with me, waiting rooms when having day surgery, driving to Dallas to meet the surgeon. He hasn't complained one bit. Thru sickness and in health...lol!
Meeting with the Oncology MD next Tuesday to get this chemo and radiation show on the road! The sooner the better!
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

1 comment:
Haha through sickness and in health. That is hilarious!! Hope all goes well tomorrow and please let me know your first day of chemo!!
Post a Comment